Slot Car Championship

At the May meeting of the FMM Slot Car Championship season, Mark Venske returned to winning ways in the Formula Carrera category with his BMW M4 DTM, edging out April’s winner Jon Lederle’s Audi RS5 DTM by a single lap. Mark set fastest lap of the event in the process. Wayne Harley borrowed a BMW M4 DTM and finished third a further lap down with Martin Lourens’ Ford GT close on the Beemer’s tail. Jon still heads the championship log with 46 points, followed by Mark on 44 and Thys Roux (Mercedes AMG GT3) on 42.

In the Formula FMM category for non-magnetic cars, Martin Lourens took the honours with his Audi and registered the fastest lap. He finished one lap ahead of the battling duo of Jackie van Wyk (Alfa Romeo Tipo 33) and Jon Lederle (Porsche 908). Jackie leads the log with 30 points with Andre Loedolff (Porsche 956) second on 23 and Jon third on 21. Formula Libre was won by Franklin Smit with his son, Boelie, second, both with Ford Mustangs, and Leon Theron (BMW 320i) third. Franklin leads the championship with 11 points from Thys Roux (Maserati MC Trofeo) on nine and Boelie on eight.