Slot Car Champions

Ever since the COVID pandemic emerged and South Africa instituted rolling restrictions including limits on gatherings, the FMM Slot Car Championship has complied in every way, leading to restricted meetings when allowed. This year, a limited number of meetings have been held and enough races taken place for a 2021 championship to be run. At the final round held on December 4, the championship – which was for non-magnetic slot cars – was decided, and Mark Venske took the title with his BMW M6 DTM. Second place went to Thys Roux with his Mercedes-Benz GT3, and third was Mike Monk with his BMW M4 DTM.

The cash/Protea wine prizes were presented by FMM Curator Wayne Harley, and a special prize was given to Jackie van Wyk for running the four-lane slot car circuit’s comprehensive computerised electronics. Phil Monk won a fun prize for his efforts in the non-championship magnetic category.