Earlier in October the second annual Oily Rag Run took place, starting at FMM and ending at Crossley & Webb in Cape Town. Organised by FMM consultant engineer Dickon Daggitt, the event is for pre-1966 unrestored cars and the 122-km route took the entries from Franschhoek through Klapmuts out towards Philadelphia then through Durbanville on to Table View before running along the Bloubergstrand coastline to Cape Town.

Fourteen vehicles took part comprised a 1927 Dodge (Michelle Hambly-Grobler), 1929 Dodge (John Ryall), 1934 Ford Tudor (Richard Middlemann), 1936 Armstrong-Siddeley (Peter Truter), 1948 Chev Fleetmaster (Hilton Franz), 1949 Chev Fleetmaster (Jeremy Schaffer), 1951 Riley RMB (Edgar Bisschop), 1953 Austin Champ (Nick Middlemann), 1957 Morris Oxford (Adrian Denness), 1958 VW Beetle (Adriaan Louw), 1958 VW Kombi (Jason Furness), 1959 Austin-Healey 100/6 (Roddy Mills) and 1965 Sunbeam Alpine (Toeks Cross). The 1928 Rugby Tourer entered by FMM and crewed by Donny Tarentaal and Wenstley Witcomb sadly did not finish – a fuel problem proved elusive to locate on the side of the road but was quickly resolved once back at FMM. As a result, the crew brandished a yellow card…

Overall winner and recipient of the FMM-sponsored trophy was Michelle Hambly-Grobler in her Dodge, Michelle typically taking to the occasion by appearing in period dress. By popular vote, the winner of the Crossley and Webb Skorokoro Shield for the ‘most oily rag car’ (ie, the tattiest…) was Richard Middlemann in his Ford Tudor. MM

oily-rag-run-2016-019 oily-rag-run-2016-022 oily-rag-run-2016-059 oily-rag-run-2016-064 oily-rag-run-2016-080