Fmm Slot Car Championship Round 3

The third round of the 2018 FMM Slot Car Championship took place in May with another big entry list including some more new drivers, along with a diverse selection of cars. The evening saw 30 races take place over the two championship categories, and the racing was as competitive as ever.

The Touring Car championship is proving to be the more popular category and features a diversity of models from historic through to modern day, with separate classes for each. Also included in the mix are magnetised and non-magnetised slot cars, which are also categorised separately, so there is much to compete for in the championship. At the May meeting, Pieter Venter’s Jaguar XKR-S emerged as the winner from Andre du Plessis’ similar car with Mike Monk’s Zakspeed Ford Capri third. Fastest lap on the night was shared by Andre’s Jaguar and Günther Ras’ Zakspeed Capri. By finishing fourth, Thys Roux’s Maserati MC Trofeo leads the championship log with 34 points followed by Joe Inus’ Fiat Abarth TC1000 with 33 and Mike Monk’s Zakspeed Capri third with 26.

In the Sports Car Championship for Le Mans/DTM cars, again both historic and modern, Jon Lederle’s Audi RS5 DTM was again overall winner and recorded the fastest lap. Mark Venske’s BMW M4 DTM was second and Japie Aranjies’ Chaparral third. Jon comfortably heads the championship with 33 points with Mark second on 22 and Donny Tarentaal’s Audi RS5 DTM third with 20.

Competitors race against each other over two time-controlled heats and where laps covered are equaled, fastest lap times determine the final order. Points are awarded to every competitor based on their finishing position, and a bonus point is awarded for the fastest lap in each category. Meetings are held at 19h00 on the first Wednesday of each month.