Fmm Slot Car Championship Round 2

The second round of the 2018 FMM Slot Car Championship took place in April with an excellent turn-out of regular and new drivers, some with new cars. The driver line-up was quite an eclectic mix of young and old, male and female, experienced and novice, all quickly getting down to setting quick and consistent lap times over the challenging two-lane track layout designed by experienced slot car organiser Jon Lederle.


In the popular Touring Car championship, Thys Roux was the winner with his Maserati MC Trofeo, setting the fastest lap of the night in the process. In second place was Joe Inus with his small but rapid Fiat Abarth TC1000, who beat a closely-matched pack of cars headed by young Günther Ras’ Ford Zakspeed Capri. As a result, Joe and Thys share leadership of the championship with Günther in third spot.


In the Sports Car category, Jon Lederle was once again the man to beat with his Audi RS5 DTM but, as happened in March, the fastest lap went to his arch-rival Donny Tarentaal with his RS5. Japie Aragnies raced his Chaparral for the first time and was fast and consistent enough to finish third. The championship log sees Jon and Donny on top with the same points, with Andre Loedolff’s Porsche 956 in third.

When not racing, competitors take turns to marshal for their fellow drivers and in this regard youngsters Günther Ras, Bully Smit and Armin van der Walt certainly set the example for enthusiasm and super-quick reactions.


The championship is made up of two categories, Touring Cars and Sports Cars (effectively Le Mans/DTM cars), with modern and historic classes within both. Competitors race against each other over two time-controlled heats, one in each lane, and the total laps covered determines the finishing positions. Where laps covered are equaled, fastest lap times determine the final order. Points are awarded to every competitor based on their finishing position, and a bonus point is awarded for the fastest lap in each category.


Meetings are held at 19h00 on the first Wednesday of each month and some intense racing takes place during the evening.